

Steve Relyea Executive Vice Chancellor and Chief Financial Officer

> 562-951-4600 srelyea@calstate.edu

www.calstate.edu

Information Item Only

DATE: September 27, 2021

TO: CSU Presidents

FROM: Steve Relyea Steven Relyea (Sp. 28, 2021 09:56 PDT

**Executive Vice Chancellor and** 

Chief Financial Officer

**SUMMARY**: California Attorney General's Expansion of Banned Travel States

AFFECTED GROUPS: Faculty, Staff, Students

On September 24, 2021, Attorney General Robert Bonta announced that Ohio will be added to the list of banned travel states, effective September 30, 2021. (The effective date of this ban varies for each state.) Please see the link below for the full press release.

## September 24, 2021, OAG Announcement

Questions about this memo may be directed to Dawn Theodora, Assistant Vice Chancellor and Chief Counsel – Business and Finance at <a href="mailto:dtheodora@calstate.edu.">dtheodora@calstate.edu.</a> General information can also be found on the Attorney General's website: <a href="https://oag.ca.gov/ab1887">https://oag.ca.gov/ab1887</a>.

c: Joseph I. Castro, Chancellor Chief Administration and Business Officers Andrew Jones, Executive Vice Chancellor and General Counsel Sylvia Alva, Executive Vice Chancellor, Academic and Student Affairs Vlad Marinescu, Vice Chancellor and Chief Audit Officer Evelyn Nazario, Vice Chancellor, Human Resources Larry Salinas, Interim Vice Chancellor, University Relations and Advancement



CSU Presidents September 27, 2021 Page 2

The following states are currently subject to California's ban on state-funded and state-sponsored travel:

- 1. Alabama
- 2. Arkansas
- 3. Florida
- 4. Idaho
- 5. Iowa
- 6. Kansas
- 7. Kentucky
- 8. Mississippi
- 9. Montana
- 10. North Carolina
- 11. North Dakota
- 12. Oklahoma
- 13. Ohio (effective September 30, 2021)
- 14. South Carolina
- 15. South Dakota
- 16. Tennessee
- 17. Texas
- 18. West Virginia